Royal Institute of British Architects

January 2, 2014 architectusa


Organization Description

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) is a professional body for architects primarily in the United Kingdom, but also internationally, founded for the advancement of architecture under its charter granted in 1837 and Supplemental Charter granted in 1971. it was formed in 1834 by several prominent architects, including Philip Hardwick, Thomas Allom, William Donthorne, Thomas Leverton Donaldson, John Buonarotti Papworth, and Thomas de Grey, 2nd Earl de Grey.[1] After the grant of the royal charter it had become known as the Royal Institute of British Architects in London, eventually dropping the reference to London in 1892. In 1934, it moved to its current headquarters on Portland Place, with the building being opened by King George V and Queen Mary. It was granted its Royal Charter in 1837 under King William IV. Supplemental Charters of 1887, 1909 and 1925 were replaced by a single Charter in 1971, and there have been minor amendments since then. The original Charter of 1837 set out the purpose of the Royal Institute to be: 'the general advancement of Civil Architecture, and for promoting and facilitating the acquirement of the knowledge of the various arts and sciences connected therewith…' The operational framework is provided by the Byelaws, which are more frequently updated than the Charter. Any revisions to the Charter or Byelaws require the Privy Council's approval. The RIBA is a member organisation, with 44,000 members. Chartered Members are entitled to call themselves chartered architects and to append the post-nominals RIBA after their name; Student Members are not permitted to do so. RIBA is based at 66 Portland Place, London—a 1930s Grade II* listed building designed by architect George Grey Wornum with sculptures by Edward Bainbridge Copnall and James Woodford. Regions The Institute also maintains a dozen regional offices around the United Kingdom, it opened its first regional office for the East of England at Cambridge in 1966. East – Great Shelford East Midlands – Art, Architecture and Design, University of Lincoln London – Portland Place North East – School of the Built Environment, Northumbria University North West – The Tea Factory, Liverpool South and South East – Building LO11, University of Reading South West and Wessex – Paintworks, Bristol West Midlands – Birmingham and Midland Institute, Birmingham Yorkshire – 32 The Calls, Leeds Wales – Royal Society of Architects in Wales, 4 Cathedral Road, Cardiff Northern Ireland – Royal Society of Ulster Architects[5] Scotland – Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland[6] RIBA USA

Other Name

Organization: Royal Institute of British Architects

London, Greater London, UK- England